Mastodon

Recipe: Gluten Free Zucchini Bread

#recipe-schema { border: 1px dashed #89D2BD; padding: 25px; background: #F1FEF9; font-size: 15px; margin-bottom: 10px; }
.recipe-schema-image { float: right; clear: right; margin-left: 10px; padding: 5px; background: #eee; border: 1px solid #ddd; }
.recipe-schema-name { font-size: 18px; }
.schema-primary-meta-data { margin-top: -25px; border-bottom: 1px solid #D0E3DF; padding-bottom: 20px; }
.recipe-schema-ingredients, .recipe-schema-instructions { font-weight: bold; }
.recipe-schema-description { font-style: italic; }
@media screen and (max-width: 550px){
.recipe-schema-image { float: none; clear: both; margin-bottom: 30px; margin-left: 0; }
}
Yum
What do you do when you have a giant zucchini and can’t grill it all for dinner?

A post shared by Annette (@dananner) on


I decided to try my hand at zucchini bread for the first time in over 20 years because we had entirely too much left over after a trip to the Farmer’s Market this past weekend.

I need to get myself a proper vegetable grater. This little cheese one is barely up to the jobs I expect it to do.

How am I going to grate all of this?!?
2 cups grated zucchini
1/2 of that giant zucchini produced a little more than 2 cups grated

I have a Kitchenaid mixer so I tend to dump everything in and mix really well. Proper instructions are below. This batch of batter I split into 1 loaf and 1 batch of muffins. The loaf came out extra moist and the muffins about the consistency one would expect.

I made so much and had a presentation to give first thing Monday morning, so I brought in the loaf sliced up (when I got home, I found out that, like banana bread, I’ll have to make another batch).

Thinking ahead while I made this, one of my new team members is allergic to coconut and other tree nuts, so I had to make sure that I used a gluten-free flour that wasn’t coconut- nor almond-based. I took none home, three people asked for the recipe, and a few people had seconds and thirds. One person was vegan, which I didn’t realize so I will try a vegan version in the future.

I am definitely writing this one down to make again.

Zucchini Bread Recipe (Gluten-free but not low carb. Also makes great muffins if you don’t have a loaf pan).

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour (I used King Arthur GF flour, which is rice based)
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp gluten free baking powder
  • 1 tbsp ground cinnamon
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup vegetable oil (I use either coconut oil or Kerrygold butter)
  • 1.5 cups organic dark brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp pure vanilla extract
  • 2 cups grated (and pressed) zucchini
Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees Farenheit. If you don’t press the zucchini, up the temp to 350 because there will be A LOT of moisture.
  2. Grease your pan(s). This recipe makes two loaves or 1 loaf and 1 dozen muffins, or 2 dozen muffins.
  3. Sift dry ingredients together in a bowl.
  4. Beat eggs, vanilla, oil, and sugar together. Add dry ingredients to creamed mixture, mix well. Add zucchini and mix well.
  5. Pour batter into prepared pans.
  6. Bake for 40-75 minutes (depending on muffins or loaves) or unti the tester inserted in the center comes out clean.
  7. Cool on rack for 20 minutes.
  8. Remove from pan, cool completely, enjoy!

I wouldn’t mind one of these for a belated birthday or a Christmas gift. Just sayin’

via Blogger https://ift.tt/342MWjB

DaNanner @UnfocusedWanderlust