Mastodon

Behind the Wall

Today would have been my brother’s 45th birthday. I’m kinda in my head about it all and not willing to post on his still active FB wall (why do they make it so hard to remove the digital footprint of the deceased?). The hurt is still there, but not as raw as last year, so … that’s a good thing?

I remembered to check in with my mom. We are honest about it. He was her favorite, and I was my dad’s. Everyone knew it. Even my youngest siblings, though I suppose they have moved up the hierarchy now? Something to think about later.

Anyway, mom is doing ok. Says better than expected too. She has people keeping her distracted, so that’s a good thing.

Now that I am actively thinking and writing about it, my heart is starting to hurt, and the tears are coming, so now is the time for me to put the wall back up.

Photo by <a href=“https://unsplash.com/@hypelights?utm_source=unsplash&utm_medium=referral&utm_content=creditCopyText">Brendan Sapp</a> on <a href=“https://unsplash.com/photos/h-7PY4s_9EM?utm_source=unsplash&utm_medium=referral&utm_content=creditCopyText">Unsplash</a>

DaNanner @UnfocusedWanderlust