Mastodon

Ageism and Big Mom Energy

Or sticking my size 11 in my mouth and self-sabotaging.

I was joking (kinda, maybe) to a coworker about my over-40 WYSIWYG attitude. I don’t have the patience to put up with bullshit politics, and me being me, I have always hated office politics. This isn’t high school, people. Well, it should not be. We’re here to get a job done and done well. Leave the bullshit at the door.

I think I may have blown my last interview by saying something about “big mom energy.” Frankly, this is something I’m proud of because even the people on my team who are my generation need some mothering on occasion. My big mom energy means, “are you taking care of yourself? No? What do you need from me to make that happen?”

As a manager, this way of managing is selfish, if we are being totally honest. My team is a reflection of me and my leadership abilities. I need my team to be at their best. If giving everyone hard looks (a la “mom is about to go off”), making people take PTO, sick days, and mental health days, and find a damn therapist, and do you need a ride makes that happen, so be it. Flipside— day 1– you’re all adults. I’m here when and if you need me, but I am also not going to let you suffer in silence. You set the boundaries, and I won’t be mad when you tell me to back off. Not everyone responds well to big mother energy. But I will do my damndest to cultivate an environment for safe and healthy growth. This attitude often goes against the corporate agenda.

Ok, enough about that for now. I honestly don’t know what turned them off since it was more of the same of what I put in the one-way video questions, but with more personality. I need to stop second-guessing myself. But I want to know what I did wrong!

My personality? That could be it. Know any companies looking for someone like me?

DaNanner @UnfocusedWanderlust