Mastodon

Two Sleeps and a Beagle

First, some context if you don’t know what I mean by Two Sleeps.

Scooby wakes up at the crack of pre-dawn. It doesn’t matter if we are using blackout shades or not. He just knows. Sometimes one of us can convince him to cuddle until the semi-decent hour of 6 AM🥱 but more often than not, I am dragging my carcass out of a warm comfy bed at 5:30 AM when his whining, booping, and boot-scooting  becomes non-stop. And once I am upright, Molly demands a few belly rubs before they both run to the front door of the camper to “get dressed” and get outside.

Now, one would think that after all that fussing, he would go potty post haste. One would be wrong. First, he must attempt to awaken the entire campground as he hunts for bunnies. Luckily, picking him up in a classic football baby hold seems to short-circuit his need to bay. And then we walk for either 1mi or 30 minutes before his bowels finally get the final message to release. If you see a zombie being dragged by a beagle (or two), that’s me.

Molly, the sweet, smart thing that she is, does her business and then wants to go right back to the comfort of the warm bed. We tried this approach on Tuesday. The BF stayed in bed; I took the dogs out, returned Molly, and continued with Scooby. He FINALLY did his business, and we could go back to bed at 6:30. So, after a night of insomnia and then the walk, it took me a little bit to go back to sleep. But eventually, we all did and slept soundly until 9:30 am!!! That was awesome. But with the BF still holding down a day job, maybe not so much (thank goodness he works PDT hours!).

We have decided to do the extra morning nap (see, I finally came back to the idea of two sleeps) on the weekends. But I am so done and dragging by 11:00 AM M-F. My Apple Watch informed me that I have steadily been getting less and less sleep over the last 17 days. I wondered about the specificity of 17. Wait, we adopted Scooby on May 28. HAH! Ugh. The cost of doggy daycare will be worth it so that I can nap.

And now, for some cuteness. I do this all for them. Because I am NOT a morning person.

DaNanner @UnfocusedWanderlust