Mastodon

Comfort Zone, what’s that?

I finally signed up for Lunchclub since more than 3 people had recommended it to me. Putting my relationships in the hands of AI — ok, let’s try this.

I mean, if i am being real with myself, I have been talking to random strangers on the internet since 1993 when I first logged onto IRC. How could this be different?

Well, video for one. And not a chat room or a stream where I am “invisible“ behind my keyboard. Let’s just jump right in, shall we. Why are you here?

Surprisingly, it matched me with two people where I could be my awesomely awkward self and just go for it. Ok, so I need to work on my conversation skills. I acknowledged that from the get-go and let it be known that I was more interested in having a conversation than “networking” (should totally be a 4-letter word). Both people were incredibly gracious and we almost went over time, both times! Win!

I also managed to introduce someone new to the term “loud introvert” and holy mother of all things weird, there’s another person in a completely different industry who thinks the way I do. Maybe it’s a project manager/Gen X leader mindset. Something to think about and test.

Ok, time for weekly adult session/ date afternoon. Scheduling around dogs is way too much like scheduling around kids.

DaNanner @UnfocusedWanderlust